What is a Vestry?

Episcopal congregations are generally governed by their Rector/Priest-in-Charge and the Vestry. The Vestry, consisting of wardens and other members, is the legal representative of the parish in all matters concerning its corporate property and the relations of the Parish to its Clergy.

The Vestry performs both secular and canonical responsibilities. As a body, the Vestry is responsible for the church’s finances and resources; governance of the parish’s business; the determination of appropriate programs, policies and procedures; and performance assessment. The Vestry is elected by the congregation and is led by the Rector/Priest-in-Charge. At St. James’, our vestry members serve two year terms. Our Junior Warden is elected to a one-year term and has specific oversight of Building & Grounds. Our Senior Warden isĀ appointed by the Rector/Priest-in-Charge. The Treasurer is an appointed position by the Vestry.

Members of the Vestry may have committee responsibilities including education, worship, building & grounds and finance.

Our Vestry members, who may be reached via the parish office, are as follows:

Marci Yardley, Sr. Warden
Brian Burke, Jr. Warden
Lew Chartrand, Treasurer

Members-at-Large (2 yr terms)
Pat Anderson
Peter Babin
Steve Kittell
Julie Mattson
Denise Ray